Meet Dr. Hengameh Shakeraneh

Hengameh Shakeraneh

Hengameh Shakeraneh

Dr. Hengameh Shakeraneh is a dear friend and a successful pharmacist. I met the witty and beautiful Hengameh when we were students at UCLA.  Hengameh lives in Los Angeles with her seven year old son. I had the pleasure of interviewing Hengameh recently.
When did you and your family move to the United States?
I left Iran on March 5, 1979.  My father and I moved to Los Angeles since my brothers and my mother were already living here.
What is your education and background?
I moved here when I was twelve.  I attended Emerson Junior High School and then Pacific Palisades High school.  I then went to UCLA, graduating in 1988 with a B.S. in Psychobiology.  I got accepted to the Pharmacy school at the University of Pacific and graduated as a Doctor of Pharmacy.
Why did you choose pharmacy?
I took some chemistry and biology courses at UCLA and found them very interesting.  My uncle, who was a pharmacist and endocrinologist, inspired me as well.  My job provides me the flexibility I need as a single mother to be a hands-on parent and to focus on my son.
How long have you been working as a pharmacist?
I have been working as a pharmacist since 1992.
What advice do you have for women trying to manage their career and family?
I manage time very well.  I’m good at multi-tasking.  I plan everything ahead of time.  For example, whenever my son has time off from school, I make sure that I have time off too so that we can spend quality time together as a family.  Luckily, the owner of the business I work with, Medical Rx Specialty, is very understanding.  I have a flexible schedule and I am able to take time off if I need to.  Having a good relationship with people you work with is very important.
One thought on “Meet Dr. Hengameh Shakeraneh

Leave a Reply

