Meet Rebecca Molayem

Rebecca Molayem is an expressionist artist with a unique whimsical, captivating style.  Using vibrant colors often layered on top of each other with many brush strokes, she creates a sense of movement and dance throughout her paintings.  I had a chance to interview this talented artist and gain insight into her process.

What is your background and education?

I finished high school and attended California State University Northridge, where I studied graphic design and illustration. I worked in my field for about 15 years while painting and sculpting on the side. By 1999 I had developed a style that I felt strongly about and started showing my work, mostly at outdoor venues and shows.  I’ve taught sculpting before, so my future goal is to have an atelier where I can bring people together. I would love to be able to teach art and sculpting in my studio in the near future.

At what age did you realize that you possessed artistic talent?

I’ve been painting since age five. I’ve always loved painting. It took a while before I came up with my style, but now I feel very comfortable with it.

How would you describe your art?

I call my style Abstract Expressionism. My art is about color composition and storytelling. It’s whimsical and bold.

What motivated you to open your own gallery?

My long term goal had always been to open a gallery as a way to ground myself and to show my work.  I opened my first gallery about four years ago. It has been an interesting process, especially working with other artists and learning how galleries operate. I like dealing with people – I feel more grounded this way. It certainly has been a juggling act, so I have to be more focused on my work.

What advice do you have for other artists?

Strong business skills, patience and the ability to promote oneself are essential. Commitment, knowing the business side of things and people skills are extremely helpful as well.

Rebecca Molayem is celebrating her 9th anniversary at the Rebecca Molayem Gallery

481 S. Fairfax Avenue in Los Angeles, California 90036

(323) 965-5500

rebecca

Rebecca Molayem

Visit Rebecca’s website at http://www.rebeccamolayem.arts.com

Leave a Reply

