Happy Norouz!

NorouzNorouz is the start of the Persian New Year (March 20th).  Coinciding with the Spring Equinox, Norouz is a secular holiday and symbolizes renewal and rebirth.

Every year I set up the 7 S’s (Haft seen table) with items that start with the letter S in Farsi:

1) Sabzeh – Wheat, lentil sprouts, or Mung beans – representing the rebirth of nature – I made this using lentil in a bowl covered with a wet towel for the first week.  After a few days, the sprouts shoot up into green grass.

2) Seeb – Apple – symbol of beauty and health

3) Somagh – ground Sumac

4) Serkeh – Vinegar -representing the wisdom of age

5) Senjed – (Dried oleaster – available in Persian markets)

6) Samanoo – (sweet pudding) – cooked wheat flour – symbol of affluence

7) Sekeh – Coins

candles and finally, the beautiful and fragrant Sonbol – Hyacinth

Most tables also feature a bowl filled with goldfish, a holy book or a volume of poems (by Hafez, Omar Khayam or Rumi), and painted eggs. A mirror placed at the center of the table reflects everything we hope for in the new year.

The new year is a time of renewal, and of visiting family and friends.

The traditional dish for Norouz is Sabzi pollo mahi (green herb rice with fish).

This is the year 1395 in the Iranian solar calender.  Wishing everyone who celebrates Norouz a healthy and happy new year.

9 thoughts on “Happy Norouz!

  1. awesome…

    I see you pass the award along, try to find your post…

    you have to post the award and list them in your post to be able to make it official/formal…
    anyway, hope that they take it.

    Happy Writing.

  2. Hi, Angela!

    Thanks again for this post. Because of it, I was able to highlight the celebration here for everyone in our poetry community.
    http://jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/2011/03/sunday-rally-dispatch-03202011.html

    I invite you to write a summary about what the holiday means to you for the next edition. If you’d like to do so, please let me know (jamiededes@rocketmail.com). I would then need it by 12 p.m. PST on Friday, March 25. Any short poetic piece would be welcome as well.

    Thanks, Angela.

    Jamie

  3. Happy Norouz! This was a very interesting post! I recently bought a budding Hyacinth for my home. The flower has died, but I am going to plant the bulb in my garden and see if it will grow again!

  4. Thank you for this hub. I have always dreamed of being a writer but have, to date, written nothing other than my life story and I was compelled to do that. I seemed to get terrified at the thought of writing but yet there is nothing else I want to do. I have always wanted to write and feel that I was meant to write but up to now never had the courage. I will find the courage one day. Thanks again. Keep the hubs coming.

Leave a Reply

